Rachmaninov Beginnings

Rachmaninov Prelude in C sharp minor

I have been quite fortunate to have a sister who competed and studied the piano from childhood. I grew up surrounded be some wonderful music. For several weeks now I have been listening to Rachmaninov. During a search of his music on youtube I came across, Rachmaninov’s Prelude in C sharp minor. I first heard this piece when I was about 7, and it was the first time I felt captivated by music. There where songs on the radio I liked, but this was different feeling.

When my sister had finished practicing I remember walking over to the piano thinking did that really come out of this? I got up on to the piano stool. I looked at the keys, I looked at the sheet music, and thought about what I just heard. A myriad of things passed through my mind. Such as the mystery of how a person, notes, and keys, create emotion. I was even looking inside the piano while pressing the keys and pedals.

I didn’t find anything of consequence inside the piano. Strangely, I always though the piece was written by Chopin or Liszt. These were the books I always saw on the piano, I don’t remember ever seeing Rachmaninov’s name anywhere. These details don’t really matter though. I now know, the musical emotional affair started with Rachmaninov. I’m happy to hear, and feel, it once more.

Leave a Reply

